Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsCog Forum → Rotation Crashing Problems
Rotation Crashing Problems
2004-12-30, 2:05 PM #1
Hello again, meet my problem: I have this pointer that moves back and forth according to the left/right motion of the mouse. (under param(0)==5). Everything worked masterfully... until I added rotation.

I want to rotate thing knob around the pitch axis, but as soon as I move my mouse now, MotS crashes. I've never done much with rotation before, and I'm a noob at vectors in general, so some help would be much appreciated.

Code:
playeraction:
if(GetParam(0)==14) return;
if(GetParam(0)==5.0) {
 SetThingVel(pointer, VectorScale(GetThingLVec(pointer), (GetParam(2)/1000)));
 Rotate(knob, VectorSet((GetParam(2)/1000), 0, 0)); 
}
ReturnEx(0);
return;
Cordially,
Lord Tiberius Grismath
1473 for '1337' posts.
2004-12-30, 9:19 PM #2
What are you trying to make it do with the rotate command (also what is "knob")?
Sam: "Sir we can't call it 'The Enterprise'"
Jack: "Why not!"
2005-01-01, 4:25 PM #3
knob is a 3do that has the pyr of 90 270 and 90.

I want it to rotate around the Y axis at a speed based on the left-right speed of my mouse.
Cordially,
Lord Tiberius Grismath
1473 for '1337' posts.
2005-01-02, 3:14 PM #4
I don't know if I've ever seen the verb rotate do anything. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong about that.

SetThingRotVel or RotatePivot may be your real options to use there. I think with rotate pivot you have to have a ghost point to pivot around though...and it needs a frame to explain in which way to rotate,...so I don't think you can just create a ghost object to rotate-pivot-around...