Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsJedi Outcast and Jedi Academy Editing Forum → Question!
Question!
2005-03-02, 7:00 AM #1
As you might have noticed, I am a JK editor... Also, as you might have noticed, I would like to pursue my editing carreer as a profession... Therefore, I will buy JA and JO, for JK editing is useless to be accepted in a company. I already know that the JO/JA Building tool, is quite differant to JED (positive space) but I shall learn it fast like I learned to edit with JED. My question: I am presently learning C/C++, in order to know cog... In JO/JA what type of file is controlling the interactive aspects of the game? And is the language based on C/C++???

Thanks

- Pogo air -
2005-03-02, 7:49 AM #2
I'm not entirely sure if JA is a wise choice. Although much more modern than JK, it's still getting old, and Quake III engine isn't anymore an option for any company. If you had already mapped for JO/JA for a couple of years, it might be worth it, but learning them from scratch... I dunno.

The scripting language of JO/JA is icarus, a language developed by Raven for these particular games (and Elite Force). It has nothing to do with C, and it's very restricted and simple, quite powerless. Of course for JA MP you can mod the source, which has been released, and that would obviously be C/C++ programming.
Frozen in the past by ICARUS
2005-03-02, 8:19 AM #3
JO is great for basic mapping and scripting.
|-|E|_|_O
2005-03-02, 10:11 AM #4
Quote:
Originally posted by Darth_biggs
JO is great for basic mapping and scripting.

Maybe mapping but hardly scripting. And just believe me, I know what I'm talking about. From very personal and extensive experience.