Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Knoppix questions
Knoppix questions
2004-02-18, 9:11 PM #1
Ok, so I'm new to linux. So sue me. But I think I'm getting the hang of it rather well. I still don't know many konsole commands or much else for that matter, but I'm learning. GBK - I'm sorry for being a windows user for so long. [http://forums.massassi.net/html/smile.gif]

Anyway, I have a few problems with Knoppix that are not quite covered in the documentation. I know that knoppix is configured not to allow root access. And without root, I can't create a new user with root access. So first thing: how do I gain root in knoppix?

Secondly, I need permanent storage of files and programs for use is knoppix. Obviously, the paging file is reset after each restart and whatever is saved in the session is lost. Now, I don't want to give write access to my harddrive, as it only has one partition, and it's in NTFS. I'm pretty sure the only thing I can do is reformat and create a FAT32 partition and allow write from knoppix. But there maybe something I'm missing. Is there anything else I can do for permanent storage?

What architecture does knoppix run on? I need Blender (www.blender3d.org), but I don't know if I need i386 or PPC.

Also, I would really like midi support. I've found a few websites with the drivers and insturctions, but none really deal with the special case of knoppix. I don't think I can recomile the linux kernel without lots of problems, but I would like midi support. Suggestions?

GBK - this is a question you'll most likely be able to answer. Which build of Xchat works with knoppix?