Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → I'm going to swallow my pride and try again... Linux that is.
I'm going to swallow my pride and try again... Linux that is.
2006-06-05, 7:42 AM #1
Now that I have a couple extra hard drives and can therefore install Linux without doing any fancy-schmancy partitioning, I was thinking of giving it a shot again. Except this time, I want to ask you guys first what distribution I should use. Being a beginner, I want something that's stable and relatively easy to learn. Also it would be great if it wasn't too hard to get a wireless internet connection working with it.
Stuff
2006-06-05, 7:48 AM #2
I hear Ubuntu has some fancy stuff for wireless. Debian in general is probably a good way to go if you really want the easy route.

Otherwise, Gentoo is fun, and you'll learn a lot more about how Linux works, and how to tweak things to your liking.
2006-06-05, 9:15 AM #3
Debian is good, but the install process is not exactly painless if you're new to linux.
2006-06-05, 9:54 AM #4
Despite the whole "compile your own kernel" thing, I found Gentoo very easy to install. Easier, in fact, than Debian. And so, I'd personally recommend Gentoo- especially if you're installing linux just for the sake of it, because as Matty said, you'll learn a lot about how linux works.
Massassi's Official Chatroom: irc.synirc.com #massassi
2006-06-05, 10:07 AM #5
I personally don't think you learn a lot by installing Gentoo. For most people, they probably just go through the motions and leave without knowing too much more. I do think it is a good linux distribution though; I use to run it a couple of years ago.