Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → CDs Not the Vinyl Word
CDs Not the Vinyl Word
2006-07-25, 4:44 PM #1
Lately, I've started buying up all sorts of classic vinyl. And really, I think it sounds a lot better than CDs in lot of cases. Right now, I'm listening to Pink Floyd's The Wall and "Another Brick" is totally awesome. "Empty Spaces" was pretty cool too. Can't wait for "Don't Leave Me Now" and "Hey You."

I also picked up Zeppelin IV today, too. THAT is gonna rock on the turntable.
DISCLAIMER: This is just armchair observation, not the result of many hours of deliberate study of the subject. I'm by no means an expert, but just an ignorant hick who's putting his two cents in. For that and a nickel, you can have a cup of coffee.
2006-07-25, 4:45 PM #2
Records sound great, unitl they wear out.
Pissed Off?
2006-07-25, 4:50 PM #3
They rock. Even when scratched and worn out, haha.

I still prefer my old 'Empire Strikes Back' record to the CD. The Imperial March just doesn't sound the same without all the pops and ticks! :v: :D

I love how you can get some material only on vinyl. I have an awesome Shellac 7" that never got released on CD. And it's their best record, i.m.o.
ORJ / My Level: ORJ Temple Tournament I
2006-07-25, 5:07 PM #4
They sound better because:

1. The quality of the mastering was better on vinyl and they messed it up on CD (quite common in the early 80s).
2. Your turntable is hooked up to better equipment.
3. You're imagining it.

CD is a better medium, period. That said, vinyl is still cool. But I just don't like the myth the vinyl is better to perpetuate. :cool: