Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Dungeons & Dragons Novels
Dungeons & Dragons Novels
2006-07-25, 6:48 PM #1
I'm not very experienced with D&D at all, but the settings and what not intrigue me and might make for some worthwhile reading. Are any of the D&D novels (or series of novels) especially good? I'm looking for an unbiased opinion, and a view on how these books compare to other fantasy novels that I could read instead.
2006-07-25, 6:53 PM #2
The art on the front is sometimes cool. . .that's all I know about it.
My blawgh.
2006-07-25, 6:58 PM #3
When compared against the excellent authors, R.A Salvatore isn't particularly impressive, but his stories are.

He wrote all the Drizzt Do'Urden books, and they're almost all fantastic reads (if a little over-dramatic in places). He doesn't paint anywhere near as vibrant a world as Tolkien but his characters are fantastic, Artemis Entreri is an awesome bad guy.

If you want to read his Forgotten Realms books i'd do it in the following order (because it's chronological):

The Dark Elf Trilogy
- Homeland
- Exile
- Sojourn

The Icewind Dale Trilogy
- The Crystal Shard
- Streams of Silver
- The Halfling's Gem

Legacy of the Drow (first 3 books)
- The Legacy
- Starless Night
- Siege of Darkness

The Cleric Quintet
- Canticle
- In Sylvan Shadows
- Night Masks
- The Fallen Fortess
- The Chaos Curse

Legacy of the Drow (last book)
- Passage to Dawn

Paths of Darkness
- The Silent Blade
- The Spine of the World
- Servant of the Shard (also first book of The Sellswords)
- Sea of Swords

The Hunter's Blades Trilogy (this is basically one big war)
- The Thousand Orcs
- The Lone Drow
- The Two Swords

The Sellswords