Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Upgrade or wait?
Upgrade or wait?
2006-11-23, 10:04 PM #1
My current system:
Asus A8N-SLI
Athlon 64 3500+
1 GB Corsair DDR400
XFX 7950 GT

I've thought about buying a faster CPU, and doubling the RAM. Then I began to wonder how much more it would cost to get a Core 2 Duo, good motherboard, and 2 GB of RAM. I've been building AMD systems for five years, so I'm really out of touch when it comes to building Intel.

More memory is definitely in my future, 1 GB just isn't cutting it. So I guess the question is, would I see much of a performance boost with a CPU upgrade? Or should I just wait a year or so and build a new system at that time?
2006-11-23, 10:17 PM #2
Right now upgrading to a good dual-core is certainly worthwhile. The next best thing to happen to CPUs will be quad-core, and I've heard those won't be much of use to anyone besides those that run apps that would actually use it. I recently upgraded to an E6600 (2.4 GHz, 4 MB cache), 2 GB of RAM, and a new motherboard, and I couldn't be happier. I actually came from a system almost exactly like the one you have now. Plus the Core 2 Duos overclock well, I got mine up to 3 GHz without breaking a sweat, and after I get some better cooling I'll be shooting for 3.6 GHz.
<Lyme> I got Fight Club for 6.98 at walmart.
<Black_Bishop> I am Jack's low price guarantee
2006-11-23, 10:20 PM #3
Approximately what would a mobo+cpu+ram like yours run?
2006-11-23, 10:27 PM #4
Upgrade.
2006-11-23, 10:29 PM #5