Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → The U.S. National Debt is Actually $50 Trillion?
The U.S. National Debt is Actually $50 Trillion?
2007-01-05, 5:18 PM #1
I will add a disclaimer right here: I am not an expert on this subject, and I don't know if all of this is true, but needless to say, I find the prospect of it being true extremely alarming.

Right, that said:
The U.S. Debt is $50 Trillion (Blog source)
Quote:
Though the Bush Administration's official budget lists the national debt and deficit as being incredibly high, they are actually far worse than reported, according to Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)....The true national debt is $50 trillion, not the $8.3 trillion Bush reported. That's $156,000 for every citizen, or $375,000 for every working American. This figure has more than doubled in the past five years. We paid $327 billion last year on interest alone.

and this:
Congressman Jim Cooper's Report
Quote:
The Budget says the deficit was $319 billion in 2005 while the Financial Report says it was $760 billion, or over twice as large.

David Walker, Comptroller General of the United States, has been clear on the question of cash basis accounting. “Continuing on this unsustainable path will gradually erode, if not suddenly damage, our economy, our standard of living, and ultimately our national security.”

These are also very important links:
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/12/23/AR2006122300653.html
Quote: