Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → IM Clients/IRC
IM Clients/IRC
2007-04-17, 5:19 PM #1
After the frustrations of working with Gaim (Now called "Pidgin") and trying to use it as IRC and an instant messaging client, I decided I had enough. I can't have The Gimp and Gaim installed at the same time for some reason due to a GTK library problem, and I have no knowledge how to fix it. I also can't use IRC commands like I normally would in say, mIRC.

So, I ask you Massassi, which IM clients do you use? Do you know of any that would work fine with Windows that would have an IRC protocol with other instant messaging protocols?

Or should I just suck it up and download mIRC again?
2007-04-17, 5:21 PM #2
Trillian supports AIM, ICQ, MSN, Y!, and IRC. I used to use it for IM and IRC. It's a pretty good program.
2007-04-17, 5:23 PM #3
Get mIRC again.
Code to the left of him, code to the right of him, code in front of him compil'd and thundered. Programm'd at with shot and $SHELL. Boldly he typed and well. Into the jaws of C. Into the mouth of PERL. Debug'd the 0x258.
2007-04-17, 5:23 PM #4
I used it once, a long time ago. They wanted me to go premium for some reason all the time.

I'm sorry to admit I'm lazy, but is there any IRC controls (i.e. supressing useless messages, kicking people via right-click menu, etc.)?

Am I also able to use aliases for people on the buddy list?
2007-04-17, 5:28 PM #5