Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → What are you reading right now? Summer Edition.
What are you reading right now? Summer Edition.
2007-05-15, 4:34 PM #1
... other than "this thread." ;)

The purpose of this thread is obvious. I've found these threads are a good way to find new books to read.

I'm 2/3 through Specimen Days by Michael Cunningham. It's a novel that is really three different stories. One from the height of the Industrial Revolution. One from the present day. One from the future (I'm just beginning the third). All the stories take place in New York City with the same three characters (although in slightly different forms), and, you guessed it, they all feature Walt Whitman. Cunningham is a high quality writer, more known for his novel The Hours.

I would recommend it, but I will admit that the second story was much less impressive than the first.
2007-05-15, 4:39 PM #2
About half a minute ago I finished Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, with the promise of another Hunter S. Thompson book once I've returned this one to the girl I borrowed it from. I'm also currently working my way through the second volume of Romance of the Three Kingdoms. I don't get an awful amount of time to read while I'm at Uni, sadly, so that book's been an "in progress" for quite a while. I think once I've finished my exams at the end of this week, I'll set aside some time to just sit and read.
2007-05-15, 4:43 PM #3
I'm not readaing anything right now actually apart from revision notes.

I'm going into Edinburgh at the weekend though so I might pop into Waterstones and pick up one of Bruce Campbell's books.
nope.
2007-05-15, 4:43 PM #4