Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Film School or Education Questionmark
Film School or Education Questionmark
2008-05-07, 3:40 PM #1
Within the next semester, after I finish my AA degree, I have to decide where I should go from here. I have been a capable video editor and director for quite a while now, and am confident that I can develop the skills to go far. On the other hand, I love English teaching at the high-school level, and would love doing it for the rest of my life. Here are some pros and cons of each:

Film:

Pros:
I'd enjoy it
I'm good at it
Great money
Lots of creativity
Flexible lifestyle

Cons:
Competitive market
Long process
Inconsistent income
No guarantees
Expensive

English:

Pros:
I'd enjoy it
I'm good at it
More certain income
Reliable job market
Guaranteed job somewhere
Cheap

Cons:
Horrible pay
Lifelong job (late retirement)
Restrictive lifestyle
Narrow job field
More stressful/difficult

What do you cats think? I'd be going to Minneapolis to either the Arts school, or to the State school, so we're not talking about the top tier in either subject.
ᵗʰᵉᵇˢᵍ๒ᵍᵐᵃᶥᶫ∙ᶜᵒᵐ
ᴸᶥᵛᵉ ᴼᵑ ᴬᵈᵃᵐ
2008-05-07, 3:42 PM #2
I wouldn't say being a High School English Teacher is more stressful than being a film producer/director/editor... probably
2008-05-07, 3:43 PM #3
High Schoolers would love you Kirbs. Just saying.
"Oh my god. That just made me want to start cutting" - Aglar
"Why do people from ALL OVER NORTH AMERICA keep asking about CATS?" - Steven, 4/1/2009
2008-05-07, 3:45 PM #4
Don't you generally need a BS degree to go to grad school?
My Parkour blog
My Twitter. Follow me!
2008-05-07, 3:50 PM #5