Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Now thats fast.
Now thats fast.
2008-07-13, 9:59 PM #1
OK, so this question is totally a theoretical "in a perfect world" scenario type question here. And since we have a really computer smart community here at massassi I figure who better to ask?

Say I was a very very rich person, and I wanted to have an OC-768 connection for my home, because I am an extremeist. Is this physicially possible supposing I lived within range of a providers network? If not please explain, I am somewhat new to the fiberoptic network thing. I know I jumped on the boat late.
"They're everywhere, the little harlots."
-Martyn
2008-07-13, 11:24 PM #2
They'd have to run the fiber to your house, which even being rich would be pretty much out of the question.

Not to mention getting yourself an OC-768 line would be ridiculous overkill as most all webservers only have 10/100mbit ports, FAR below the OC-768 line. Thus, you'd be capped by their speeds.
2008-07-13, 11:34 PM #3
just go to RIT with its OC3 tubes to the internets

D:
Holy soap opera Batman. - FGR
DARWIN WILL PREVENT THE DOWNFALL OF OUR RACE. - Rob
Free Jin!
2008-07-13, 11:35 PM #4
Quote:
as most all webservers only have 10/100mbit ports, FAR below the OC-768 line. Thus, you'd be capped by their speeds.

oh yeah, I didn't think about that one. Damn.

Overkill but just think. no lag.

realisticially speaking though, it is possible to geta T3 line to your house correct?
-Martyn
2008-07-13, 11:36 PM #5
Quote:
just go to RIT with its OC3 tubes to the internets

D:

I live 10 minutes from there hahaha
-Martyn
2008-07-14, 2:26 AM #6