Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Looking to buy a new laptop. What makers should I look at?
Looking to buy a new laptop. What makers should I look at?
2008-12-20, 9:32 AM #1
In terms of what I'm looking for with my laptop, I'm looking for a laptop (at most $1200) that can perform decently with newer games in case I have any interest in playing them. By decent, I'm talking about running games in average settings instead of high settings. I'm also a college student who's majoring in software engineering so a laptop that's well suited for running programming IDEs and quick code compilation is a plus. Of course last but not least, reliability is one of the greatest factor.

I noticed that CyberPower has pretty good prices for the laptops that they sell. However, this fact also makes me a bit iffy of them building reliable.
2008-12-20, 9:39 AM #2
In b4 30 people all saying "Macbook"
Stuff
2008-12-20, 9:51 AM #3
Originally posted by Cloud:
...reliability is one of the greatest factor.

Thinkpad.
And when the moment is right, I'm gonna fly a kite.
2008-12-20, 10:50 AM #4
MACBOOK
Looks like we're not going down after all, so nevermind.
2008-12-20, 12:07 PM #5
macbook... PRO. (out of your pricerange though .()
"They're everywhere, the little harlots."
-Martyn
2008-12-20, 1:01 PM #6
Originally posted by gbk:

Yes. Thinkpads have the lowest failure rates of any laptops on the market. Apple actually has the highest, although it's only a 3% difference.
Bassoon, n. A brazen instrument into which a fool blows out his brains.
2008-12-20, 1:02 PM #7
Originally posted by Emon: