Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → The recent forum spam
The recent forum spam
2008-12-24, 4:52 AM #1
It sucks.

I'm an admin at marvelmods.com and we have the same problem. I'm sure you've got it covered, but here's what I did to regulate it:

1-Registrations require approval. So now there's a queue that I can sort through to reject the spam accounts right away.
2-If I'm unsure on an account name/email, I check it at stopforumspam.com

From what I understand some forum creators have released updates for their products, but the update for ours won't fix the issue, so this is a great temporary solution in the meantime.
-There are easier things in life than finding a good woman, like nailing Jello to a tree, for instance

Tazz
2008-12-24, 8:02 AM #2
Why not also implement a short questionnaire only a human could fill out?
Holy soap opera Batman. - FGR
DARWIN WILL PREVENT THE DOWNFALL OF OUR RACE. - Rob
Free Jin!
2008-12-24, 8:28 AM #3
Originally posted by genk:
Why not also implement a short questionnaire only a human could fill out?

We did. It didn't work. The spambots are being registered by humans.
2008-12-24, 8:36 AM #4
Sucks plums that. I've got no idea how to get round that. Besides HARD MATHS TESTS so that the army of captcha crackers can't do it.

But then we'd only get superhumans as new users... <.<
2008-12-24, 8:51 AM #5
Superhuman spammers would be awesome.
gbk is 50 probably

MB IS FAT
2008-12-24, 8:54 AM #6
We have spam problems?
My Parkour blog
My Twitter. Follow me!
2008-12-24, 10:42 AM #7