Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Has anyone built their own speaker setup?
Has anyone built their own speaker setup?
2010-10-10, 12:07 AM #1
One of the guys at Anandtech set me up with plans / etc for a subwoofer for my home theater system...looking like it will be a 300w Bash amp with a 15" Dayton Reference subwoofer in a ported enclosure.

I've never built anything like this before...I will probably enlist the help of my step-dad (carpenter, prefers high end finish work) and see how nice I can make it look/sound. Ideally I'd like people to think it was purchased, not built. :P

So far I am in the $400-450 neighborhood for parts, though I will probably do the box first (cheaper) and buy the amp/woofer when I have the money. I was told to expect performance you'd find in a retail product in the $1200-5000 range. :awesome:
woot!
2010-10-10, 10:04 AM #2
People do this for their cars all the time :awesome: It was the hot project in woodshop when I was in high school, although most of those ones sucked. It's easy, you're basically just making a box of a certain volume out of your choice of wood. You need a sharp eye for measuring and the ability to make a straight cut. For simple wood projects I like to make a scale drawing in some 3d editor. Since I know Q3 Radiant that's usually the easiest for me. I love making my own stuff, you should have fun.
2010-10-10, 11:00 AM #3
Don't act so innocent, JLee. You weren't on any mercy mission this time. Several transmissions were beamed to this ship by Rebel spies. I want to know what happened to the plans they sent you.