Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → what do to next, job talk.
what do to next, job talk.
2011-11-03, 5:15 AM #1
hey folks,

Massassi is home to a bunch of vagrants that are spread across quite a few fields of expertise, so I think it's as good a place as any to ask opinions on types of companies.

Since I finished my PhD I've been slacking, but decided a couple of weeks ago I've had enough of a break and I better get a job.

I've had a few interviews, got good feedback from them all, got a few offers on the table with a few more interviews coming up, which will hopefully result in a few more offers.

When all the interviews are done in a week or so I'll hope to have options ranging from working for a $30 billion revenue oil and gas drilling company to a small (6-8 person) software development company.

What I'm wondering is the sort of working atmosphere I can expect to get within the different types of company? The feeling I get is that within the bigger companies, jobs and work get very departmentalised and focused on particular areas, where as in the smaller companies you tend to be spread across multiple roles with you playing a part on many different fronts.

I'm just curious on folks opinions on working for these different types of companies, the benefits and the drawbacks that exist for both. In the end I'll choose based on the atmosphere I expect to work in and how interested the job will keep me, I'm not toooooo bothered about pay as even in the "worst" case it's equal to or better than a post-doc position.
People of our generation should not be subjected to mornings.

Rbots
2011-11-03, 6:42 AM #2