Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Job-hunting advice!
Job-hunting advice!
2012-07-15, 5:13 PM #1
There's already the related thread that started about resume-advice, but I don't want to derail it entirely. I recently graduated with my bachelor's after studying economics and political science and I'm looking for a full-time job. I have four years of experience working in customer-service related jobs, six months experience working as a legal file clerk and receptionist, and three months experience as an intern in an economic development office. I live in Tampa, which is a fairly large city with a number of regional banking headquarters.

Finding a job is awful, and the information about starting salaries is as awful too. I've searched many times for jobs for recent economics grads, and those jobs seem to require 3-5 years of experience that I don't have. I'm also having a hard time figuring out what a good and realistic income goal would be; I always heard econ grads did fairly well starting off, and even information from 2011 tells me that econ grads with a bachelor's and no experience typically make $40,000-50,000 starting off. Where the heck are these people working?

Anyway, I need a job. I had expected to find a job where I could make $35,000 a year; enough for a single guy in Florida to be comfortable. Should I lower my expectations or even raise them higher? Where can I start off with no or only vaguely-related experience?
It took a while for you to find me; I was hiding in the lime tree.
2012-07-15, 5:16 PM #2