Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsMusic Discussion and Showcase → Music Composition Software
Music Composition Software
2004-07-24, 2:28 PM #1
I'm a newb at this - I searched google and came up with some subpar results at best. If I wanted to tinker around with music composition, what is the best freeware/shareware for the job? Preferably something that lets you save in mp3 format, though I know some of them give you a certain number of "saves", and that's fine too.

------------------
Have a good one,
Freelancer
"it is time to get a credit card to complete my financial independance" — Tibby, Aug. 2009
2004-07-24, 4:20 PM #2
Fruity Loops is probably your best bet. I've played with it very, very little. I prefer Apple's Garage Band or Soundtrack over it.

------------------
Put me in the hospital for nerves and then they had to commit me,
You told them all I was crazy,
They cut off my legs now I'm an amputee, God damn you.
============
Frogblast the Vent-Core!
"In the beginning, the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move." - Douglas Adams
Are you finding Ling-Ling's head?
Last Stand
2004-07-24, 4:40 PM #3
Thanks for the suggestion, though that isn't exactly what I am looking for. To clarify a little more: I am looking for something with a stave that I can start composing music with.

[This message has been edited by Freelancer (edited July 24, 2004).]
"it is time to get a credit card to complete my financial independance" — Tibby, Aug. 2009
2004-07-24, 5:28 PM #4
I know of a program that does that, I just don't remember what it is.