Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsMusic Discussion and Showcase → Buying an electric guitar
Buying an electric guitar
2008-01-09, 2:21 PM #1
Fancier model, purchased used and perhaps not in the best condition, or brand new entry-level guitar?

Namely: Ibanez RG350/470/etc used and maybe damaged
Or: Ibanez GRG170dx

Edit: Forgot to mention, I AM a beginner and am trying not to spend more than $300 at the most on the guitar itself.
Warhead[97]
2008-01-09, 8:59 PM #2
If yuor a beginner, then get one of those starter packs, its best to get the ephone one, squire = lame and same with ibanez, if you ever do get searious, look into brands like gibson, that works for everything, if you want metal the esp ltd, or maby a nice jackson....
" I am the Lizard King, I can do anyhthing... "
2008-01-10, 10:12 AM #3
Eh, squier is fine for a starter guitar.
Last edited by mb; today at 10:55 AM.
2008-01-10, 10:27 AM #4
I disagree. I have a Squier from about ten years ago and it's pretty good for what it is (I've had some work done on it, and it's better than a stock Mexican strat in my opinion), but all the ones I've played in recent years have been pretty bad.

Anyways, the best thing to do is get someone knowledgeable to go to the store with you and test drive both of them. Or you could just ask the salesman.
COUCHMAN IS BACK BABY
2008-01-10, 10:40 AM #5
Please stay away from a starter pack unless its extraordinarily exceptional.

I don't know if I'd touch the ESP ltds you can get new in that price range either, I've heard stock it sounds muddy as hell. The 350dx looks nice if you can find someone selling one since they're about $400 new.