PDA

View Full Version : What the hell is a shader?



Ron1jed
03-31-2002, 04:36 PM
?

Thrawn[numbarz]
03-31-2002, 04:43 PM
It's kinda...a thingy...that changes the way the engine draws the texture/surface. You can use shaders for glowing or chrome effects...and...stuff. I'm just as confused as you are. http://forums.massassi.net/html/confused.gif

lordvader
03-31-2002, 04:47 PM
A shader is an extension of a typical texture. While a normal texture can only be a flat surface, possibly with a transparency map, a shader can specify many additional properties. In q3, a shader can cause a texture to move, as a liquid does, to be shiny, emit light, be translucent, animate, etc.

Ron1jed
03-31-2002, 06:30 PM
oooooooo

UGG
03-31-2002, 06:52 PM
A shader is a text file script with the same name of it's texture. It lists other textures used by that texture and what effects are applied to them eg. rotation, scrolling, zooming etc. Think of it as a multi-layered texture.

Bror Jace
04-01-2002, 03:59 AM
Is there a list with all commands I can assign to a texture in the .shader? This would be really helpfull in making sabers with new colors.

JM
04-01-2002, 09:15 AM
Read the shader manual.

Bror Jace
04-01-2002, 10:09 AM
Thx, I've read the manual now. But I didn't find a solution to my problem.
I have a white saber, but the the orange glow instead of grey.
http://www.uwg-oer-erkenschwick.de/SWJK2/shotwhite1.jpg
http://www.uwg-oer-erkenschwick.de/SWJK2/shotwhite2.jpg
http://www.uwg-oer-erkenschwick.de/SWJK2/shotwhite3.jpg

You see the problem? Any idea how to change this? I really need the help!!!

Hell Raiser
04-02-2002, 02:08 PM
assets0\shaders\saber.shaders

Look in that file and replace the orange entries, and it should solve your problem....

[This message has been edited by Hell Raiser (edited April 02, 2002).]

zagibu
04-02-2002, 03:55 PM
did you notice that this shader points to tga files that don't exist?

------------------
"Häb Pfrässe, süsch chlepfts!" - The coolest language in the world (besides cherokee)

Detty
04-02-2002, 04:20 PM
It doesn't, the Q3 engine looks for the tga file first, then if it doesn't find it, it looks for the jpg equivalent.

Bror Jace
04-02-2002, 04:51 PM
I changed that tga or jpg files that are in the sabers.shader, but that doesn't help.

I also kept the name "orange" except making all with "silver" in the name, but it doesn't work for the blur and glow.

The other textures work fine, as you can see on the first screenshot.

Admiral Mouse
04-03-2002, 01:41 PM
You're gonna love shader editing. The things you can do with them are amazing. When Raven finally get around to releasing the editor we're going to start seeing some astounding maps.