PDA

View Full Version : JOMap - Quake3 BSP Conversion Tool



UGG
04-18-2002, 04:14 AM
HAHAHA! Raven just got 0wNed! Check it! http://forums.massassi.net/html/cool.gif
http://ugg.codealliance.ca/jomap/

Forgive my shamless gloating, but I'm very happy that I got this to work. http://forums.massassi.net/html/biggrin.gif

Sorry if you have to reinstall Outcast to a quake directory, but don't blame me. Blame whoever put that silly check into q3map!

Ok, get to it! http://forums.massassi.net/html/wink.gif I want to hear what works and what doesn't. I'm probably going to hear a lot of what doesn't work. http://forums.massassi.net/html/frown.gif

zagibu
04-18-2002, 05:34 AM
You are the master.

------------------
"Häb Pfrässe, süsch chlepfts!" - The coolest language in the world (besides Cherokee)

Galvatron
04-18-2002, 05:49 AM
Dude!! It works!! Sweeet!!

------------------
//||\\atrix Studios.NET (http://www.matrix-studios.net/)

BoBo_Fett
04-18-2002, 07:05 AM
works great UGG!

http://jedidreams.codealliance.ca/img/jk2oasis.jpg

Galvatron
04-18-2002, 07:44 AM
OASIS!!! *drools*

------------------
//||\\atrix Studios.NET (http://www.matrix-studios.net/)

UGG
04-18-2002, 07:50 AM
Cheers guys! http://forums.massassi.net/html/smile.gif

That looks great, BoBo_Fett, but it's a mystery why the shaders and lighting are messed up. At least the textures are the right size. http://forums.massassi.net/html/smile.gif

I'll put my BSP spec up soon so you can help me work out what the new values are, if you want to. I don't have a clue what they do, and Raven don't even reply to my questions! http://forums.massassi.net/html/frown.gif

flumpdumpy
04-18-2002, 11:27 AM
Does anyone have Droid's jk-2-jo converter. All the links I've found go to www.outpostd34.com (http://www.outpostd34.com) which seems to be down.

Detty
04-18-2002, 11:41 AM
very nice, is it possible for a RtCW - JO converter? although I expect the SDK to be released soon anyway.

[This message has been edited by DeTRiTiC-iQ (edited April 18, 2002).]

dr0id
04-18-2002, 12:42 PM
Nah! BoBo_Fett beat me to it... http://forums.massassi.net/html/wink.gif
But my shot has more action in it! ;D
http://droid.codealliance.ca/files/jk1jo_1.jpg

Very nice work UGG!!

flumpdumpy, I have a new host: http://droid.codealliance.ca

------------------
dr0id
droid.codealliance.ca (http://droid.codealliance.ca)

flumpdumpy
04-18-2002, 01:06 PM
Thanks, Droid. Great work BTW.

Evil_Moose_1
04-18-2002, 03:40 PM
I'm sorry to be the one to have to say this, but...those textures in the new oasis are, well, ugly. http://forums.massassi.net/html/frown.gif Sorry to point it out but I'm sure some one else must notice it...

------------------
----------
When the going gets tough; the tough go super sayajin.

zagibu
04-18-2002, 03:48 PM
It's just an experiment. I'm quite sure they will add some decent textures.

------------------
"Häb Pfrässe, süsch chlepfts!" - The coolest language in the world (besides Cherokee)

UGG
04-18-2002, 03:55 PM
Cool shot, dr0id! Of course, we wouldn't be seeing this without your JKImport plugin. Thanks for that! http://forums.massassi.net/html/smile.gif


<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">very nice, is it possible for a RtCW - JO converter?</font>Yeah, I think so. I haven't look at the RTCW format yet, or the Elite Force one, but they shouldn't be too different. It may even work as it is. All JOMap does is take the basic Quake stuff and adds default values for the new stuff.

Btw, there is also a thread on JediKnightii.
Editing Forum Thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=f5535c0e39e119255131e52c16302766&threadid=44704)

Matt_Surman
04-18-2002, 08:39 PM
I used it to convert my RtcW maps, it worked pretty good, except the curves didn't come out properly.

ctsketch
04-19-2002, 05:14 AM
what program is used to make Q3 maps?

------------------
"I'd gladly become Death if it would mean peace for the colonies."
-Duo Maxwell

"...and remember.you cant erase..the sketch"

-ctsketch

Galvatron
04-19-2002, 06:30 AM
Q3Radient

------------------
//&#0124;&#0124;\\atrix Studios.NET (http://www.matrix-studios.net/)

flumpdumpy
04-19-2002, 01:57 PM
UGG, just a thought here. I was playing around and decided to try compiling a map with the version of Q3map that came with the Elite Force SDK. It compiled fine and your converter worked fine, lights still don't work though(JO says it missing shaders). I was wondering if you had tried the EF compiler. Considering that Raven created it, the output might be closer to the JO format.

UGG
04-19-2002, 03:14 PM
I don't think they changed anything in Elite Force. The version number is the same as Quake3's. I'll check them anyway, and Wolfenstein's too. Wolf's version number is different.

ctsketch
04-19-2002, 05:32 PM
where does one obtain Q3 Radient?

------------------
"I'd gladly become Death if it would mean peace for the colonies."
-Duo Maxwell

"...and remember.you cant erase..the sketch"

-ctsketch

lordvader
04-19-2002, 05:49 PM
UGG, if I'm not mistaken, q3map was released under the GPL, meaning you're required to make the JOMap source publically available.

UGG
04-19-2002, 06:49 PM
LOL! You wish. Nice try anyway. http://forums.massassi.net/html/wink.gif

lordvader
04-19-2002, 07:10 PM
No, I'm serious. They're GPLed, and the GPL specifically says that the source code must be released.

UGG
04-19-2002, 08:07 PM
Of course, but you wrongly assume that I used code from q3map. I'm manipulating data AFTER it has been processed by q3map. I have no need to use it's code.

BoBo_Fett
04-20-2002, 11:57 AM
UGG, are your BSP specs ready?

lordvader
04-20-2002, 12:52 PM
Ah, I thought you had modified q3map http://forums.massassi.net/html/smile.gif

Dash_rendar
04-21-2002, 09:42 AM
No Water?

------------------
The truth is out there, but so are lies.

UGG
04-22-2002, 09:32 AM
I'm still waiting on a reply from Raven about what I'm allowed to post. ChangKhan has passed on my email to their lead programmer, so hopefully I'll get an answer soon. http://forums.massassi.net/html/smile.gif

While I wait for that, I'll do some more checking. Would be nice if that loading problem was due to a mistake, but I don't think it is. http://forums.massassi.net/html/frown.gif

BoBo_Fett
04-22-2002, 09:58 AM
I've been working on the .glm model spec for the past couple of days. I have most of it figured out, but I quess I'll contact raven before posting that too. Maybe they'll give me some hints...

Darth Hal
04-22-2002, 12:36 PM
Droids JK1-JO converter plugin doesn't seem to work with JORadiant... and I don't have Quake. :

dr0id
04-22-2002, 01:41 PM
Darth Hal, I just uploaded a JK2Radiant compatible version of it.

------------------
dr0id
droid.codealliance.ca (http://droid.codealliance.ca)

Darth Hal
04-22-2002, 06:01 PM
Wow, I just tried it out... with that conveyor belt multiplayer level... it's rather nice. No textures, and the level design is simple enough... I might try making my own version (Or another level entirely.)