PDA

View Full Version : How would I go about setting actor flags...



Lord Kaje
02-11-2005, 02:36 AM
... to take damage...? I notice that the in-game baddies don't seem to take much damage from one another's fire. How might I go about setting them up to take full damage from another actor?

_K_

darthslaw
02-11-2005, 04:57 PM
increase the damage parameters of the enemy's bullet templates.

+bryarbolt _weapon ...damage=30.0 mindamage=10.0...
+stlaser +bryarbolt ...
+elaser +stlaser ...damage=12.0 mindamage=5.0
See how +elaser (used by baddies) is damage=12 and +stlaser (used by players) is damage=30?

LKOH_SniperWolf
02-11-2005, 07:46 PM
That's not what he asked for. He was correct in that they don't take full damage. ... I spend too much time browsing DataMaster... Lol. So here's it's explanation of the particular flag responsible for doing what you asked. And I suggest picking up a copy of DataMaster as well. :)

0x1000000 Actor Flag
Normally, actors hit by fire from other actors aren't damaged that much. An actor with this flag fires projectiles that fully damage other actors.

(The damages are different between AI and player's bolt to make it easier for player, I imagine)

Lord Kaje
02-11-2005, 09:48 PM
Oooofff... I appreciate your responses, but I guess my real question is: what format do I set/get actor flags and in what message of the actor cog do I put the 0x1000000...?

_K_

LKOH_SniperWolf
02-11-2005, 11:22 PM
You could do...

created:
SetActorFlags(GetSenderRef(), 0x1000000);

Or... you could just add it to the actors template. (copy master.tpl out of jeddata into your project dir, modify appropriate template)

Lord Kaje
02-12-2005, 12:10 AM
"created" -- Duh: silly me...!

Thanx...!

_K_