Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Suse 9.1
Suse 9.1
2004-12-22, 7:30 PM #1
I'm thinking of trying suse 9.1. It's the 5 disc retail release, not the 700 mb personal build. (a friend is willing to loan it to me for awhile). Is this a good distro for the average user? I have some linux experience, but not a whole lot. (I'm downloading the live eval right now. )

Anyways, post your favourite linux distro.
My current favourite is mandrake, which I used for about 6 months. The only other one I used was redhat, which I didn't like too much.
2004-12-22, 7:51 PM #2
My favourite was Gentoo, because it retaught me everything I thought I knew about linux.
That painting was a gift, Todd. I'm taking it with me.
2004-12-22, 7:57 PM #3
I liked Debian Woody when I installed it because it worked fine on my laptop. I had nothing but problems getting Sarge to work on my desktop though. But I can't really blame Debian, seeing as it was mostly an issue with X.org. I'll try it on my laptop and see what happens.

Fedora Core 2 was a pretty easy install and is simple to maintain. It's too much of an "introductory" linux for my tastes though. I'll try Gentoo sometime after I get back to school.
Marsz, marsz, Dąbrowski,
Z ziemi włoskiej do Polski,
Za twoim przewodem
Złączym się z narodem.
2004-12-22, 9:36 PM #4
I hate Suse with a passion. It's the most Windows-like distro out there. If you have a problem that cannot be solved through YAST you're on your own. And if you only have an old version of Suse try to find updates to your software. That's impossible.