Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → What Linux should I use?
What Linux should I use?
2005-12-14, 10:08 AM #1
I'm interested in getting into Linux. I'm majoring in computer science and am trying to immerse myself in the genre and expand my horizons! ( :rolleyes: ) but really I just want to start using it so I can get a feel for what it's like to use a different operating system and challenge myself a little. I'm going to have to get used to learning different and varried systems/languages/structures in the future, and I figure experimenting with Linux is a good start. Plus, I can install it right now without having to leave my room or putting a dent in my wallet.

I'm planning to install it along side Windows XP, which I have now, so I can still use Windows while I'm getting used to Linux. I'm not afraid of the command line, a combination of that and a GUI would probably be best; it's my understanding that many Linux distributions have a balance of this. I know there are many task specific distribution of Linux (i.e. use for small businesses, use on older computers, user friendly edition). I'm pretty much looking for a balanced distribution that has a good combination and representation of what Linux is all about.

I've looked on various websites to get information, but I'd also like your input. I assume many of you use Linux; you seem to be intelligent people who can see past the evil lies of the Microsoft Empire. I know for a fact some of you do from the Post your Desktop thread, and personally, those desktops look much more intriguing than the classic Windows Startup menu.