Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Is the army good?
Is the army good?
2006-06-29, 9:26 PM #1
I've been thinking about this a lot lately. I'm a music student working towards a BA, but there aren't any summer jobs for music kids (aside from gigging and such), so the idea of joining up crossed my mind several times. It'd be part-time reserve stuff if I did enlist. I almost called the recruiter a couple times but stopped - I was afraid of signing up, discovering that I hated it for whatever reason and then being trapped.

This whole thing is on my mind because tomorrow morning I'm going down to the temp agency to see if they can place me in a factory for the afternoon. I already hate the idea of assembling car parts or something for eight hours, and I really think that if I doing this kind of work is just wasting my life, whereas even if you never get shipped out anywhere (obviously the big deal for Canada right now is Afghanistan. I don't know how they decide who goes and who stays, or who gets to be a combat infantryman and who gets to be a clerk, but still) you can look back later in life and know you were part of something important.

So I just wanted to ask people about this military stuff, just trying to find out about it I guess. I know Brian and Simbachu were both did some time; I remember Brian being some kind of soldier in the air force and talking fairly negatively about his experiences.
COUCHMAN IS BACK BABY
2006-06-29, 9:30 PM #2