Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Don't work with people who don't know anything
Don't work with people who don't know anything
2007-06-14, 7:34 PM #1
I'm just venting:

I've been editing film for 6 years. I am a very good editor, and all of my employers know this. I have worked under-budgeted since I started editing (And now since I've started web designing) simply because of the non-technological area I live in. My skills are under-appreciated, under-paid, and unrespected.

When I say that I need 2 weeks to edit a graduation party video, you do not miss the handoff meeting, and then call me 30 times the next week while I'm at my best friends going-away dinner, wanting to bring the footage to me 3 days before the deadline (Without telling me the actual deadline.). You don't ignore me when I say that "The footage should all fit on one DVD, but if it doesn't work out that way, we'll have to use 2" and then flip out when I have to recut the project for 2 DVDs the night before a deadline I only knew about 2 hours ago. You do not pay me 50 dollars to do 2 weeks of editing in 3 days while my little cousin is up from rochester and wants to go do the things I promised but I can't because I'm editing some ****ing graduation video with far less footage than I need for what I'm being asked to produce. 50 dollars is not a good 20 hour rate.