Massassi Forums Logo

This is the static archive of the Massassi Forums. The forums are closed indefinitely. Thanks for all the memories!

You can also download Super Old Archived Message Boards from when Massassi first started.

"View" counts are as of the day the forums were archived, and will no longer increase.

ForumsDiscussion Forum → Tell me about credit cards
Tell me about credit cards
2008-04-09, 1:53 PM #1
I'm 22 years old and have never had a credit card. I decided recently that I'd like to get one. I applied to my bank, and today received a letter saying I'd been rejected. They mentioned that they look at criteria such as income (about $14.5k last year for me, I mostly work part time because I'm a student), how long you've been at your current residence (12 years), how long you've had your current job (6 years), etc. This just seems like bull****. I have plenty of irresponsible friends who have no trouble getting credit cards.

Anyway, so it seems I'll need to do something else to get one. What should I be looking for? I hardly know anything about credit cards.

Keep in mind I'm in Canada if that makes a difference.
2008-04-09, 2:08 PM #2
Some credit card companies are far more restrictive of who they pick than others. You'll probably have to go with a pretty small card to start with (low credit limit) since you have no credit history. I'm not sure how it is in Canada, but I get at least a couple card applications in the mail a month. Those are usually the ones that are more open and willing.

Just make sure there's no yearly fee for having the card, and that you pay it off every month so you don't get stuck with the generally outrageous interest rates found on such cards.
2008-04-09, 2:33 PM #3
Try Capital One.

If you follow their rules, they're pretty awesome and they'll give anyone credit.
2008-04-09, 2:40 PM #4
just make your payments on time
"Nulla tenaci invia est via"
2008-04-09, 2:41 PM #5
Oh, but don't pay everything off every month.